A & A Coronavirus Update: We are open and working hard for our clients. If you've been injured, you can hire us from the comfort of your home and we can start working on your case immediately. Click here for more information.
Carts pull and cars propel, yet somehow the original golf cart was mislabeled as a “golf car.” In fact, these machines are still considered to be cars by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) because they are self-propelled vehicles; whether powered by electricity, the sun or gasoline.
Unfortunately, operators do still regard golf carts as cars without respecting the relative risk potential. According to Jana Lynott, Senior Policy Advisor with AARP, people who operate golf carts on public roads are as vulnerable as pedestrians and bicyclists.
Our Greenville golf cart accident attorney with Auger & Auger finds that most of the accidents involving golf carts can be attributed to someone’s negligence. Distracted driving, reckless operation, and impaired driving have all resulted in golf cart accidents in South Carolina.
A golf cart accident is not a minor incident. We have all stubbed a toe or tripped over a crack in the pavement, yet merely rolling your golf cart into another vehicle, a sign, or a building can wreak havoc on your body. Spinal cord damage, traumatic brain injury, and broken bones are common injuries sustained in these low-speed collisions. Auger & Auger has extensive experience with golf cart injuries and we know they can be life-altering and financially debilitating.
There are substantial differences between passenger cars and golf carts, but as The National Golf Cart Association points out, accidents occur because of these variations. Golf carts lack headlights and turn signals, seatbelts and airbags, rear view and side mirrors; all elements of safety and communication. The lack of side doors makes ejection a simple and frequently occurring accident, and taking a hard turn can flip the cart right over.
Section 56-2-100, and 105 of the South Carolina Code of Laws is outlined below:
There are no operator requirements other than obtaining a valid driver’s license, registration and permit to operate one of these low-speed vehicles (LSVs) — if you are at least 16 years of age and have a valid license, you can drive a golf cart!
DuPont offers an online driver training course, teaching extensively safe operating procedures. Even if a driver chooses not to complete one of these courses, merely being aware of the aforementioned laws in South Carolina can go a long way in decreasing accidents.
Our Greenville golf cart accident attorney strongly believes that injured victims deserve to be compensated for the financial difficulties they experience through no fault of their own. Auger & Auger has a combined litigation experience base of more than 50 years. We are confident in our legal skills and dedication to excellence, which we endorse by offering a zero-fee guarantee; i.e. you don’t pay unless we win your case.
A member of our team is ready to speak with you at no cost. Time is of the essence because it’s easy to get overwhelmed by the ongoing elements of an injury claim. South Carolina’s statute of limitations gives you 3 years from your accident date to file. Now is the time to act!
Call (864) 991-3532 today for your free consultation, with no fees due until recovery!