Why every driver in North and South Carolina needs additional uninsured motorist coverage in 2022
Author: Auger Law | January 27th, 2022
A record-breaking 13% of drivers will hit the road without car insurance this year. If you’re involved in an accident in North or South Carolina, there is a 1 in 8 chance that you will be financially responsible regardless of who is at-fault—unless you have sufficient uninsured motorist coverage.
What is uninsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage financially protects you in the event you are injured in an accident caused by a driver who does not have insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage helps pay your expenses if you’re hit by a driver who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages.
What does uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pay for?
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage can pay for:
- Medical bills
- Car repairs or replacement
- Lost wages if you can’t work because of the car accident
- Pain and suffering compensation
- Funeral expenses
North and South Carolina require all licensed drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage.
If North and South Carolina require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, why do you need to increase your limit?
North and South Carolina only require drivers to carry the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage. Here’s how it breaks down by state:
- North Carolina requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. Drivers must also carry a minimum of $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage.
South Carolina requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. Drivers must also carry a minimum of $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage.
The real cost of serious accidents
If you are seriously injured in a car accident in North or South Carolina, your medical expenses can easily exceed the $30,000 or $25,000 limit. On average, individuals who are seriously injured in a car accident incur medical expenses between $100,000 and $300,000. If you carry just the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage, you could have to pay out of pocket to cover your total expenses.
How much uninsured motorist coverage should you carry?
With an increasing number of drivers in North and South Carolina hitting the road without insurance this year, we recommend increasing your uninsured motorist coverage to $100,000, or even $300,000 if possible. Typically, you can add higher coverage to your car insurance for a nominal price, and the protection it gives you can save you thousands in the long run.
Contact your car insurance company today to explore your options for increasing your uninsured motorist coverage.
What to do if you are injured in an accident in North or South Carolina that is caused by an uninsured driver
Call Auger & Auger immediately at (855) 969-5671
If you are injured in an accident in North or South Carolina that is caused by a driver who does not have insurance, you should contact Auger & Auger immediately. We understand how frustrating and overwhelming this situation can be. Our experienced team has helped hundreds of Carolinians recover compensation for accidents involving uninsured and underinsured drivers.
Learn more about how Auger & Auger can help you by requesting a FREE case review here.
Or call 855-969-5671 to schedule your complimentary meeting with our experienced personal injury attorneys.